askanonbinary:

Random self-care tip from me because I’m SO EXCITED about what I just learned.

Apparently there’s this thing that some people just know, but I just learned… You can make ice
cream just with frozen bananas!

Like,
honestly, whenever my bananas (which I always have because they’re a
cheap and quick fruit and good for me) go brown, I always throw them in
the freezer. Never know when you might have time to make banana bread or
chocolate banana cupcakes or even want to throw them in a milkshake or
smoothie.

But soft serve ice cream!!! This is such a cool trick, ya’ll.

All
you need is a frozen banana + any other add-ins you like for your ice
cream. 1.5 bananas will make a pretty nice sized portion of ice cream
for one person. By pretty nice, I mean sizeable. I just used 3 bananas
for two people to serve on the side of a tart, so we had smaller
portions and plenty of ice cream left. About 6 – 8 bananas, depending on
your add-ins, makes about 4 one-cup servings. To give you an idea of
amount.

  • So. Wait for your banana(s) to go brown, then freeze it.
    We always just lazily throw our bananas in whole, but I think I’m going
    to start at least peeling and maybe chopping them and throwing them in a
    bag. Because peeling frozen bananas makes your hands very cold. x3
  • Once
    the banana is frozen, take it out, peel it and chop it in to chunks.
    Throw the chunks into a food processor. A blender will work, but I’ve
    been told a smaller one is better. I’m not sure, but I think you might
    be able to make do with a mixer, even. 
  • Blend the banana. Scrape down
    the sides as necessary. It’ll take a little while. The banana will
    begin breaking down into flakes, then it’ll turn into a creamy, soft
    serve ice cream kind of texture. 
  • Once it’s to this point or close,
    you can add in your add-ins. About two tablespoons of cocoa per 1.5
    bananas for chocolate ice cream. (I think I added a bit too much cocoa
    to mine, so I threw in a little sugar to balance it out). You can add in
    peppermint extract, fresh mint (takes a lot – like ¼ cup for 1.5
    bananas), peanut butter, chocolate chips, m&ms, nuts, other frozen
    fruits, honey, cinnamon, caramel, coconut, etc. for whatever flavor of
    ice cream you want. Stick with less is more, taste to test, and add in
    more if you want. Try recreating your favorite flavor or create your
    own! Add a little almond milk (or cow’s milk or whatever you use) for a
    little extra creaminess (optional). The blender will give you a faster mix, but at
    this point, you can also just mix in by hand, tbh.
  • You can eat right away or freeze for 20+ minutes for a firmer texture.

So why am I promoting this as self-care?

– It’s suuuuuuper tasty. SO GOOD. Will make your tumtum happy haps.

– Healthier than ice cream, so you can dig in and pig out a bit and still be putting good things in your body.

– Ice cream is expensive. Bananas, not so much. A lot of add-ins aren’t badly priced either. So less hurt to your bank account.

– Will encourage you to buy bananas and eat some so you can stick the leftovers in your freezer.

– Doesn’t take long to make, so it won’t take much energy, though it will take some.

– Honestly, if you add the right extras (nuts, peanut butter, chocolate chips – I don’t like nuts, but that’ll get some protein into you!), this is actually a bit filling, so even if you can’t bring yourself to eat a real meal, you’ll still be putting something into your body, at least.

– You can feel like a mad scientist experimenting with flavors and amounts. Feel free to cackle madly while mixing.

– Digging into this healthy, tasty treat… how can you not feel satisfied putting this in your tummy? 😀 Seriously, after eating this last night, I felt so proud of myself for discovering and making this and felt nice and full and happy going to bed.

Anyway, it tastes amazing, so if you’re not allergic, I totally recommend.

Leave a comment